Wednesday, 14 September 2011

Ben Frost and Daníel Bjarnason score SÓLARIS

Due for release on November 7 is the long anticipated score for a novel by Polish author Stanislaw Lem; SÓLARIS which is celebrating its 50th anniversary. The Combined efforts of Icelandic based Aussie Ben Frost and Icelandic composer Daníel Bjarnason with the Sinfonietta Cracovia, the pice has been composed for 29 string players, two percussionists, piano, guitars, electronics and no doubt a host of more impromptu instrumentalisation. There are also video manipulations by the legendary Brian Eno who has been mentoring Frost under a scheme by Rolex.

Frost has been quoted saying:

“I always felt that Russian composer Eduard Artemyev's score compounded the external, science fiction elements of the story rather than exploring the internal, the human.”

I've been able to unearth the following track listing but Im not sure if this will be the same for the release:

  1. We Don't Need Other Worlds, We Need Mirrors
  2. Simulacra I
  3. Simulacra II
  4. Snow
  5. Reyja
  6. Cruel Miracles
  7. Hydrogen Sulfide
  8. Unbreakable Silence
  9. You Mean More To Me Than Any Scientific Truth
  10. Saccades
  11. Venia
And this is one of the videos By Eno:

No comments:

Post a Comment